Map the Block › Places › Alabama › Madison
What are the crime rate and median income in Madison, AL?
According to the FBI, Madison had 1.5 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2025, 56% lower than the Alabama rate (3.5). The median household income is $134,655 and the median home value is $398,800. Population: about 60,106 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Madison?
The FBI's 2025 figures put Madison at 1.5 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (100 in all). It stands at 56% lower than the Alabama rate (3.5); the U.S. figure is 3.3. Property crime came to 628 offenses (9.5 per 1,000; Alabama: 14.6). Compared with 2023, when 72 were reported, the count is up 39%.
| Offense (2025) | Madison count | Per 1,000 | Alabama per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 100 | 1.5 | 3.5 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 0 | 0.00 | 0.09 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 12 | 0.18 | 0.29 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 8 | 0.12 | 0.30 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 80 | 1.2 | 2.8 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 628 | 9.5 | 14.6 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 49 | 0.74 | 2.1 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 549 | 8.3 | 10.9 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 30 | 0.46 | 1.6 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Madison changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 72 | 567 | 0 |
| 2024 | 131 | 824 | 2 |
| 2025 | 100 | 628 | 0 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Madison Police Department's own reports.
How does Madison compare with Alabama?
The median household income in Madison is $134,655, about 2.1 times the Alabama median ($63,999). Owner-occupied homes have a median value of $398,800, and half of renters pay more than $1,453 a month. About 60,106 people live on 31 square miles of land, roughly 1,966 per square mile. The city lies in Madison County and Limestone County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Madison | Alabama | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 60,106 | 5,086,768 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $134,655 | $63,999 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $398,800 | $209,900 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,453 | $1,007 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 2.2% | 4.7% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 4.3% | 15.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 64.5% | 28.4% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 74.0% | 70.2% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 37.3 | 39.3 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Madison?
Madison County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: tornadoes (Relatively High) and river flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Madison?
The state DOT feed had no interstate, U.S. or state highway work zones in Madison city limits on October 11, 2026. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Madison?
Federal school lists place 13 public and 0 private schools within Madison. 2 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 1 state park or recreation area: Monte Sano State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Madison
Gun shops
2 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Madison city limits (1 from the ATF licensee list, 1 from OpenStreetMap), plus 8 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). On the ATF list: Last Resort Guns INC (Madison).
Liquor stores
6 liquor stores are on the map inside the Madison city limits: ABC Select Spirits, Alabama ABC Store #48 (Madison), Alabama ABC Store #53 (Madison), Madison Beverage, Vices Beverages (Madison) and Windmill Beverages. Alabama has no complete public liquor licence list we can use, so this count also draws on OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps and may miss some stores or include closed ones.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Madison city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official; partial in some states); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Madison?
In 2025, Madison had 1.5 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (100 reported), 56% lower than the Alabama rate (3.5). The property-crime rate was 9.5 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Madison?
$134,655 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $63,999 for Alabama.
How much do homes cost in Madison?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $398,800 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $209,900 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Madison?
Madison County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: tornadoes (Relatively High) and river flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Huntsville, AL (5 mi) · Decatur, AL (16 mi) · Spring Hill, TN (72 mi) · Murfreesboro, TN (81 mi) · Birmingham, AL (82 mi) · Franklin, TN (83 mi)
More: Alabama statewide numbers · county pages: Madison County and Limestone County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Madison city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms