Map the Block › Places › Florida › Cape Coral
Cape Coral, Florida by the numbers
The violent-crime rate in Cape Coral was 1.2 per 1,000 residents in 2023, 59% lower than the statewide rate (2.9). Median household income is $78,104 and the median home value is $373,500. About 215,536 people live in Cape Coral.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2023. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Cape Coral?
Cape Coral police recorded 277 violent crimes in 2023, or 1.2 for every 1,000 residents. That is 59% lower than the Florida rate (2.9), and 68% lower than the national rate (3.8). 2 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. There were also 2,086 property crimes, a rate of 9.1 per 1,000. Violent crimes fell 31% between 2022 and 2023 (403 to 277).
| Offense (2023) | Cape Coral count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 277 | 1.2 | 2.9 | 3.8 |
| Murder | 2 | 0.01 | 0.05 | 0.06 |
| Rape | 18 | 0.08 | 0.31 | 0.40 |
| Robbery | 13 | 0.06 | 0.43 | 0.67 |
| Aggravated assault | 244 | 1.1 | 2.1 | 2.7 |
| Property crime | 2,086 | 9.1 | 15.1 | 19.3 |
| Burglary | 344 | 1.5 | 1.6 | 2.5 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,618 | 7.1 | 12.1 | 13.6 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 124 | 0.54 | 1.4 | 3.2 |
How has crime in Cape Coral changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | 403 | 1,968 | 4 |
| 2023 | 277 | 2,086 | 2 |
| 2024 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2025 | not reported in full | – | – |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Cape Coral Police Department's own reports.
How does Cape Coral compare with Florida?
Households in Cape Coral have a median income of $78,104 (Florida: $74,568). The median owner-occupied home is worth $373,500 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,858 a month. About 215,536 people live on 106 square miles of land, roughly 2,029 per square mile. The city lies in Lee County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Cape Coral | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 215,536 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $78,104 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $373,500 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,858 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 3.8% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 10.7% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 26.9% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 77.2% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 48.6 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Cape Coral?
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Lee County as “Relatively High”. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and river flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Cape Coral?
The state DOT feed had no interstate, U.S. or state highway work zones in Cape Coral city limits on October 11, 2026. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Cape Coral?
Inside the city limits there are 27 public schools (2024-25) and 8 private schools (2023-24). 3 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 6 state parks or recreation areas: Cayo Costa State Park, Charlotte Harbor Preserve State Park, Estero Bay Preserve State Park, Gasparilla Island State Park and Lovers Key State Park and 1 more.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Cape Coral
Gun shops
7 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Cape Coral city limits (6 from the ATF licensee list, 1 from OpenStreetMap), plus 29 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 4 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Capital Pawn (Cape Coral), Craig's Tactical & Firearms (Cape Coral), Del Prado Pawn & Jewelry INC (Cape Coral), Larry's Estate Jewelry & Pawn INC (Cape Coral), Rook Arms LLC (Cape Coral) and Sunny Pawn And Jewelry INC (Cape Coral).
Liquor stores
13 liquor stores are on the map inside the Cape Coral city limits: ABC Liquors #096 (Cape Coral), ABC Liquors #98 (Cape Coral), Cape Liquors (Cape Coral), Cut Rate Liquors (Cape Coral), Friendly Frankie's Liquors (4 in Cape Coral), Paradise Spirits & Smoke (Cape Coral), Publix Liquor Store #1327 (Cape Coral), Publix Liquors #1328 (Cape Coral) and 2 more.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Cape Coral city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Cape Coral?
In 2023, Cape Coral had 1.2 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (277 reported), 59% lower than the Florida rate (2.9). The property-crime rate was 9.1 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Cape Coral?
$78,104 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Cape Coral?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $373,500 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Cape Coral?
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Lee County as “Relatively High”. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and river flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Fort Myers, FL (10 mi) · Lehigh Acres, FL (22 mi) · Bonita Springs, FL (24 mi) · Port Charlotte, FL (25 mi) · North Port, FL (31 mi) · Sarasota, FL (59 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Lee County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Cape Coral city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms