Map the Block › Places › Florida › Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach, Florida by the numbers
The violent-crime rate in Daytona Beach was 9.3 per 1,000 residents in 2022, about 3.2 times the statewide rate (2.9). The median household income is $52,058 and the median home value is $287,700. Population: about 78,992 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2022. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Daytona Beach?
The FBI's 2022 figures put Daytona Beach at 9.3 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (716 in all). For comparison, that is about 3.2 times the Florida rate (2.9) and about 2.4 times the national rate (3.9). 13 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. Burglaries, thefts and car thefts added up to 2,063 (26.7 per 1,000 residents).
| Offense (2022) | Daytona Beach count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 716 | 9.3 | 2.9 | 3.9 |
| Murder | 13 | 0.17 | 0.05 | 0.07 |
| Rape | 55 | 0.71 | 0.34 | 0.42 |
| Robbery | 65 | 0.84 | 0.38 | 0.67 |
| Aggravated assault | 583 | 7.6 | 2.2 | 2.7 |
| Property crime | 2,063 | 26.7 | 16.1 | 19.7 |
| Burglary | 259 | 3.4 | 1.8 | 2.7 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,560 | 20.2 | 13.0 | 14.2 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 244 | 3.2 | 1.3 | 2.8 |
How has crime in Daytona Beach changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | 716 | 2,063 | 13 |
| 2023 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2024 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2025 | not reported in full | – | – |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Daytona Beach Police Department's own reports.
How does Daytona Beach compare with Florida?
The median household income in Daytona Beach is $52,058, 30% lower than the Florida median ($74,568). The median owner-occupied home is worth $287,700 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,328 a month. About 78,992 people live on 67 square miles of land, roughly 1,172 per square mile. The city lies in Volusia County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Daytona Beach | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 78,992 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $52,058 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $287,700 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,328 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 4.7% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 20.4% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 27.8% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 47.5% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 40.3 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Daytona Beach?
Volusia County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: hurricanes (Very High), tornadoes (Relatively High), river flooding (Relatively High) and coastal flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Daytona Beach?
The state DOT feed had no interstate, U.S. or state highway work zones in Daytona Beach city limits on October 11, 2026. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Daytona Beach?
Federal school lists place 14 public and 12 private schools within Daytona Beach. 10 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 9 state parks or recreation areas: Addison Blockhouse Historic State Park, Blue Spring State Park, Bulow Creek State Park, Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park and De Leon Springs State Park and 4 more.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Daytona Beach
Gun shops
6 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Daytona Beach city limits (5 from the ATF licensee list, 1 from OpenStreetMap), plus 4 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 2 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Academy Sports + Outdoors #302 (Daytona Beach), Bass Pro Shops Outpost 081 (Daytona Beach), Braddock Metallurgical - Daytona INC (Daytona Beach), Cash America Pawn (Daytona Beach) and Mason Ave Pawn (Daytona Beach).
Liquor stores
8 liquor stores are on the map inside the Daytona Beach city limits: Angels Liquor Brandywine LLC (Daytona Beach), Angels Liquor LLC (Daytona Beach), Derby Liquor And Wine (Daytona Beach), Fast Lane Tobacco And Liquor (Daytona Beach), Island Liquor #604 (Daytona Beach), Liquor Discount Hut (Daytona Beach), Publix Liquor Store # 1664 (Daytona Beach) and Sharps Discount Liquors (Daytona Beach).
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Daytona Beach city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Daytona Beach?
In 2022, Daytona Beach had 9.3 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (716 reported), about 3.2 times the Florida rate (2.9). The property-crime rate was 26.7 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Daytona Beach?
$52,058 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Daytona Beach?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $287,700 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Daytona Beach?
Volusia County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: hurricanes (Very High), tornadoes (Relatively High), river flooding (Relatively High) and coastal flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Port Orange, FL (7 mi) · Deltona, FL (21 mi) · Palm Coast, FL (25 mi) · Sanford, FL (30 mi) · Apopka, FL (43 mi) · Alafaya, FL (46 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Volusia County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Daytona Beach city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms