Map the Block › Places › Florida › Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale, Florida by the numbers
FBI figures for 2025 show 6.6 violent crimes per 1,000 people in Fort Lauderdale, about 2.5 times the rate across Florida (2.6). The median household income is $83,130 and the median home value is $486,700. About 185,604 people live in Fort Lauderdale.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Fort Lauderdale?
Fort Lauderdale's violent-crime rate for 2025 was 6.6 per 1,000 residents, based on 1,264 offenses reported to the FBI. For comparison, that is about 2.5 times the Florida rate (2.6) and about 2.0 times the national rate (3.3). 11 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. There were also 6,082 property crimes, a rate of 31.8 per 1,000. Compared with 2023, when 1,317 were reported, the count is down 4%.
| Offense (2025) | Fort Lauderdale count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 1,264 | 6.6 | 2.6 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 11 | 0.06 | 0.03 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 101 | 0.53 | 0.27 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 293 | 1.5 | 0.37 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 859 | 4.5 | 1.9 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 6,082 | 31.8 | 11.8 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 818 | 4.3 | 1.3 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 4,552 | 23.8 | 9.8 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 712 | 3.7 | 0.71 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Fort Lauderdale changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 1,317 | 8,635 | 36 |
| 2024 | 1,269 | 7,485 | 19 |
| 2025 | 1,264 | 6,082 | 11 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Fort Lauderdale Police Department's own reports.
How does Fort Lauderdale compare with Florida?
Fort Lauderdale's median household earns $83,130 a year, 11% higher than the state figure ($74,568). The median owner-occupied home is worth $486,700 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,854 a month. About 185,604 people live on 35 square miles of land, roughly 5,367 per square mile. The city lies in Broward County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Fort Lauderdale | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 185,604 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $83,130 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $486,700 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,854 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 5.3% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 15.0% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 40.8% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 54.1% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 42.8 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Fort Lauderdale?
2 Superfund sites are on or proposed for EPA's National Priorities List in Fort Lauderdale: Hollingsworth Solderless Terminal and Wingate Road Municipal Incinerator Dump. A listing means EPA is managing a long-term cleanup; it does not by itself mean anyone is exposed today.
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Broward County as “Relatively High”. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Fort Lauderdale?
The state DOT feed had no interstate, U.S. or state highway work zones in Fort Lauderdale city limits on October 11, 2026. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Fort Lauderdale?
Federal school lists place 35 public and 28 private schools within Fort Lauderdale. 4 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 3 state parks or recreation areas: Hugh Taylor Birch State Park, John U. Lloyd Beach State Park and Oleta River State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Fort Lauderdale
Gun shops
8 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Fort Lauderdale city limits, plus 4 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 5 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Action Firearms & Accessories INC (Fort Lauderdale), Cash Vault (Fort Lauderdale), Florida FFL LLC (Oakland Park), Florida Gun & Gold (Oakland Park), King's Pawn (Fort Lauderdale), Lucky Pawn Davie (Fort Lauderdale), Top Shottas Gun Range LLC (Fort Lauderdale) and World Pawn (Fort Lauderdale).
Liquor stores
30 liquor stores are on the map inside the Fort Lauderdale city limits: 1 Stop Liquor (Fort Lauderdale), 67 Wine & Spirits (Fort Lauderdale), ABC Liquors #060 (Fort Lauderdale), Baba Liquor (Fort Lauderdale), Beach Liquors And Cigars (Fort Lauderdale), Big Daddys Liquors #8 (Fort Lauderdale), Corner Wine & Spirits (Fort Lauderdale), Davie Liquor (Fort Lauderdale) and 22 more.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Fort Lauderdale city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Fort Lauderdale?
In 2025, Fort Lauderdale had 6.6 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (1,264 reported), about 2.5 times the Florida rate (2.6). The property-crime rate was 31.8 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Fort Lauderdale?
$83,130 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Fort Lauderdale?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $486,700 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Fort Lauderdale?
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Broward County as “Relatively High”. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Lauderhill, FL (5 mi) · Pompano Beach, FL (7 mi) · Plantation, FL (7 mi) · Sunrise, FL (7 mi) · Hollywood, FL (8 mi) · Tamarac, FL (8 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Broward County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Fort Lauderdale city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms