Map the Block › Places › Florida › Lakeland
Lakeland, Florida by the numbers
The violent-crime rate in Lakeland was 3.7 per 1,000 residents in 2025, 41% higher than the statewide rate (2.6). Its median household earns $64,185 and the median home value is $249,400. About 119,961 people live in Lakeland.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Lakeland?
In 2025 the Lakeland Police Department reported 471 violent crimes to the FBI, which works out to 3.7 per 1,000 people. That is 41% higher than the Florida rate (2.6), and 12% higher than the national rate (3.3). The department recorded 5 murders. Property crime came to 1,957 offenses (15.3 per 1,000; Florida: 11.8). Compared with 2023, when 491 were reported, the count is down 4%.
| Offense (2025) | Lakeland count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 471 | 3.7 | 2.6 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 5 | 0.04 | 0.03 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 71 | 0.55 | 0.27 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 60 | 0.47 | 0.37 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 335 | 2.6 | 1.9 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 1,957 | 15.3 | 11.8 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 336 | 2.6 | 1.3 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,620 | 12.7 | 9.8 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 1 | 0.01 | 0.71 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Lakeland changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 491 | 2,401 | 7 |
| 2024 | 473 | 2,127 | 14 |
| 2025 | 471 | 1,957 | 5 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Lakeland Police Department's own reports.
How does Lakeland compare with Florida?
The median household income in Lakeland is $64,185, 14% lower than the Florida median ($74,568). The median owner-occupied home is worth $249,400 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,395 a month. About 119,961 people live on 67 square miles of land, roughly 1,802 per square mile. The city lies in Polk County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Lakeland | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 119,961 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $64,185 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $249,400 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,395 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 4.5% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 13.2% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 29.4% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 56.4% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 38.9 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Lakeland?
1 Superfund site is on or proposed for EPA's National Priorities List in Lakeland: Landia Chemical Company. A listing means EPA is managing a long-term cleanup; it does not by itself mean anyone is exposed today.
Lakeland has 3 dams classed as high hazard in the National Inventory of Dams. 1 is rated Poor or Unsatisfactory in condition, 1 Satisfactory or Fair. Tallest on the list: Meadow View Lake Dam (23 ft) and Lake Bonnet Dam (10 ft). “High hazard” describes what lies downstream (people would probably die if the dam failed), not how likely the dam is to fail.
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Polk County as “Relatively High”. The hazards rated highest here are hurricanes (Very High), tornadoes (Relatively High) and river flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Lakeland?
The state DOT feed had no interstate, U.S. or state highway work zones in Lakeland city limits on October 11, 2026. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Lakeland?
Inside the city limits there are 27 public schools (2024-25) and 15 private schools (2023-24). 11 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 3 state parks or recreation areas: Alafia River State Park, Colt Creek State Park and Hillsborough River State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Lakeland
Gun shops
7 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Lakeland city limits, plus 8 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 3 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Academy Sports + Outdoors #390 (Lakeland), Cash America Pawn (2 in Lakeland), Quick Cash Liquidators INC (Lakeland), Value Pawn And Jewelry (Lakeland), Vets Surplus INC (Lakeland) and Walmart #1245 (Lakeland).
Liquor stores
10 liquor stores are on the map inside the Lakeland city limits: Cpd Wine & Liquor (Lakeland), Lakeland Liquor & Wine (Lakeland), Liquor & Tobacco Outlet (Lakeland), Margin Free (Lakeland), Margin Free LLC (Lakeland), Publix Liquor Store #1270 (Lakeland), Publix Liquor Store #1651 (Lakeland), Publix Liquor Store #1854 (Lakeland) and 2 more.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Lakeland city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Lakeland?
In 2025, Lakeland had 3.7 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (471 reported), 41% higher than the Florida rate (2.6). The property-crime rate was 15.3 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Lakeland?
$64,185 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Lakeland?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $249,400 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Lakeland?
FEMA's National Risk Index rates the overall natural-hazard risk for Polk County as “Relatively High”. The hazards rated highest here are hurricanes (Very High), tornadoes (Relatively High) and river flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Winter Haven, FL (14 mi) · Brandon, FL (23 mi) · Wesley Chapel, FL (24 mi) · Riverview, FL (27 mi) · Four Corners, FL (27 mi) · Poinciana, FL (29 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Polk County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Lakeland city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms