Map the Block › Places › Florida › Orlando
Orlando, Florida by the numbers
FBI figures for 2022 show 8.4 violent crimes per 1,000 people in Orlando, about 2.9 times the rate across Florida (2.9). The median household income is $72,336 and the median home value is $394,100. Population: about 319,758 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2022. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Orlando?
Orlando police recorded 2,597 violent crimes in 2022, or 8.4 for every 1,000 residents. It stands at about 2.9 times the Florida rate (2.9); the U.S. figure is 3.9. Its murder count for the year was 32. There were also 12,517 property crimes, a rate of 40.3 per 1,000.
| Offense (2022) | Orlando count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 2,597 | 8.4 | 2.9 | 3.9 |
| Murder | 32 | 0.10 | 0.05 | 0.07 |
| Rape | 226 | 0.73 | 0.34 | 0.42 |
| Robbery | 426 | 1.4 | 0.38 | 0.67 |
| Aggravated assault | 1,913 | 6.2 | 2.2 | 2.7 |
| Property crime | 12,517 | 40.3 | 16.1 | 19.7 |
| Burglary | 1,398 | 4.5 | 1.8 | 2.7 |
| Larceny-theft | 9,861 | 31.7 | 13.0 | 14.2 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 1,258 | 4.0 | 1.3 | 2.8 |
How has crime in Orlando changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | 2,597 | 12,517 | 32 |
| 2023 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2024 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2025 | not reported in full | – | – |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Orlando Police Department's own reports.
How does Orlando compare with Florida?
The median household income in Orlando is $72,336, close to the Florida median ($74,568). Owner-occupied homes have a median value of $394,100, and half of renters pay more than $1,747 a month. About 319,758 people live on 111 square miles of land, roughly 2,878 per square mile. The city lies in Orange County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Orlando | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 319,758 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $72,336 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $394,100 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,747 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 5.2% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 14.7% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 42.5% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 39.5% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 35.1 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Orlando?
Orange County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are tornadoes (Very High), river flooding (Relatively High) and hurricanes (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Orlando?
No highway work zones were listed in Orlando city limits in the October 11, 2026 state feed. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Orlando?
Inside the city limits there are 76 public schools (2024-25) and 31 private schools (2023-24). 12 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 2 state parks or recreation areas: Lake Louisa State Park and Wekiwa Springs State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Orlando
Gun shops
6 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Orlando city limits, plus 13 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 2 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Academy Sports + Outdoors #256 (Orlando), Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World 010 (Orlando), C3 Ordnance (Orlando), Computer Information Systems INC (Orlando), La Familia Pawn And Jewelry (Orlando) and Value Pawn & Jewelry (Orlando).
Liquor stores
30 liquor stores are on the map inside the Orlando city limits: 1007 Liquors / Bully Liquors (Orlando), A Plus Liquors (Orlando), ABC Liquors #14 (Orlando), ABC Liquors #145 (Orlando), ABC Liquors #147 (Orlando), ABC Liquors #32 (Orlando), Airport Liquors (Orlando), Allstar Liquors Orlando (Orlando) and 22 more.
Planned Parenthood
One Planned Parenthood health center is on the map inside the Orlando city limits: Planned Parenthood Of Southwest And Central Florida, Inc. (Orlando).
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores · Planned Parenthood →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Orlando?
In 2022, Orlando had 8.4 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (2,597 reported), about 2.9 times the Florida rate (2.9). The property-crime rate was 40.3 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Orlando?
$72,336 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Orlando?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $394,100 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Orlando?
Orange County carries a “Relatively High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are tornadoes (Very High), river flooding (Relatively High) and hurricanes (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Alafaya, FL (9 mi) · St. Cloud, FL (12 mi) · Kissimmee, FL (12 mi) · Pine Hills, FL (18 mi) · Horizon West, FL (22 mi) · Poinciana, FL (24 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Orange County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Orlando city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms