Map the Block › Places › Georgia › Savannah
Savannah, Georgia by the numbers
According to the FBI, Savannah had 0.86 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2025, 71% lower than the Georgia rate (3.0). Median household income is $57,137 and the median home value is $248,900. Population: about 147,898 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Savannah?
In 2025 the Savannah Police Department reported 208 violent crimes to the FBI, which works out to 0.86 per 1,000 people. That is 71% lower than the Georgia rate (3.0), and 74% lower than the national rate (3.3). Its murder count for the year was 24. There were also 146 property crimes, a rate of 0.60 per 1,000. Violent crimes fell 80% between 2021 and 2025 (1,036 to 208). The department also polices areas outside the city limits; the FBI rate uses the 242,372 residents it serves.
| Offense (2025) | Savannah count | Per 1,000 | Georgia per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 208 | 0.86 | 3.0 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 24 | 0.10 | 0.06 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 26 | 0.11 | 0.30 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 18 | 0.07 | 0.34 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 140 | 0.58 | 2.3 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 146 | 0.60 | 14.1 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 25 | 0.10 | 1.6 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 121 | 0.50 | 10.8 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 0 | 0.00 | 1.6 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Savannah changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 1,036 | 4,993 | 34 |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2024 | 76 | 1 | 23 |
| 2025 | 208 | 146 | 24 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Savannah Police Department's own reports.
How does Savannah compare with Georgia?
Savannah's median household earns $57,137 a year, 26% lower than the state figure ($77,353). The median owner-occupied home is worth $248,900 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,382 a month. About 147,898 people live on 109 square miles of land, roughly 1,351 per square mile. The city lies in Chatham County and Bryan County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Savannah | Georgia | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 147,898 | 10,940,407 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $57,137 | $77,353 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $248,900 | $303,300 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,382 | $1,393 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 7.2% | 5.1% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 19.7% | 13.4% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 33.3% | 34.9% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 45.4% | 65.7% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 34.0 | 37.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Savannah?
On FEMA's National Risk Index, Chatham County has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively High”. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are hurricanes (Very High) and coastal flooding (Very High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Savannah?
Georgia does not publish an open highway work-zone feed that we can read yet, so road construction in Savannah city limits is not on our map. Check the state's 511 traveler site for current closures.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Savannah?
Federal school lists place 39 public and 15 private schools within Savannah. 5 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: Park Service units in the area: Fort Pulaski National Monument. 2 state parks or recreation areas: Fort Mcallister State Park and Skidaway Island State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Savannah
Gun shops
7 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Savannah city limits, plus 1 more licensed dealer without a public storefront (not shown). 4 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World 023 (Savannah), Cash America Pawn (Savannah), Crc Guns & Weaponry (Savannah), Goldmine Loan And Jewelry (Savannah), Hunter Exchange (Hunter Aaf) and Welsh Pawn Shop (2 in Savannah).
Liquor stores
29 liquor stores are on the map inside the Savannah city limits: ABC beverages (Savannah), ABC Liquor Warehouse (Savannah), Adlers Package Shop Inc (Savannah), All American Liquor (Savannah), Bay Street Liquor (Savannah), Bradley Liquor (Savannah), Broughton Street Liquor (Savannah), Captain's Lounge and 21 more. Georgia has no complete public liquor licence list we can use, so this count also draws on OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps and may miss some stores or include closed ones.
Planned Parenthood
One Planned Parenthood health center is on the map inside the Savannah city limits: Planned Parenthood Southeast, Inc (Savannah).
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores · Planned Parenthood →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official; partial in some states); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Savannah?
In 2025, Savannah had 0.86 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (208 reported), 71% lower than the Georgia rate (3.0). The property-crime rate was 0.60 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Savannah?
$57,137 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $77,353 for Georgia.
How much do homes cost in Savannah?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $248,900 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $303,300 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Savannah?
On FEMA's National Risk Index, Chatham County has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively High”. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are hurricanes (Very High) and coastal flooding (Very High).
Nearby cities
Summerville, SC (90 mi) · North Charleston, SC (91 mi) · Charleston, SC (91 mi) · Mount Pleasant, SC (95 mi) · Augusta, GA (106 mi) · Jacksonville, FL (119 mi)
More: Georgia statewide numbers · county pages: Chatham County and Bryan County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Savannah city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms