Map the Block › Places › Louisiana › Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, Louisiana: crime rate and local statistics
According to the FBI, Baton Rouge had 10.1 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2023, 79% higher than the Louisiana rate (5.6). Median household income is $49,994 and the median home value is $234,700. About 222,771 people live in Baton Rouge. Baton Rouge is the capital of Louisiana.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2023. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Baton Rouge?
In 2023 the Baton Rouge Police Department reported 2,210 violent crimes to the FBI, which works out to 10.1 per 1,000 people. For comparison, that is 79% higher than the Louisiana rate (5.6) and about 2.7 times the national rate (3.8). 53 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. Property crime came to 12,126 offenses (55.3 per 1,000; Louisiana: 26.0). Car thefts stand out: 9.1 per 1,000, about 2.8 times the national rate. Compared with 2021, when 2,796 were reported, the count is down 21%.
| Offense (2023) | Baton Rouge count | Per 1,000 | Louisiana per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 2,210 | 10.1 | 5.6 | 3.8 |
| Murder | 53 | 0.24 | 0.15 | 0.06 |
| Rape | 144 | 0.66 | 0.47 | 0.40 |
| Robbery | 303 | 1.4 | 0.56 | 0.67 |
| Aggravated assault | 1,710 | 7.8 | 4.5 | 2.7 |
| Property crime | 12,126 | 55.3 | 26.0 | 19.3 |
| Burglary | 2,851 | 13.0 | 4.4 | 2.5 |
| Larceny-theft | 7,285 | 33.3 | 17.8 | 13.6 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 1,990 | 9.1 | 3.8 | 3.2 |
How has crime in Baton Rouge changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 2,796 | 9,741 | 102 |
| 2022 | 2,365 | 12,897 | 65 |
| 2023 | 2,210 | 12,126 | 53 |
| 2024 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2025 | not reported in full | – | – |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Baton Rouge Police Department's own reports.
How does Baton Rouge compare with Louisiana?
Baton Rouge's median household earns $49,994 a year, 18% lower than the state figure ($60,756). The median owner-occupied home is worth $234,700 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,067 a month. About 222,771 people live on 87 square miles of land, roughly 2,562 per square mile. The city lies in East Baton Rouge Parish.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 222,771 | 4,611,961 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $49,994 | $60,756 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $234,700 | $216,500 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,067 | $1,064 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 9.2% | 6.3% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 25.7% | 18.9% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 36.6% | 27.0% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 47.8% | 67.4% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 31.5 | 38.0 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Baton Rouge?
EPA lists 1 active Superfund site (final or proposed) in Baton Rouge: Capitol Lakes. A listing means EPA is managing a long-term cleanup; it does not by itself mean anyone is exposed today.
The National Inventory of Dams lists 1 high-hazard dam in Baton Rouge. None is rated Poor or Unsatisfactory; 1 is rated Satisfactory or Fair. Tallest on the list: Pennington Lake (21 ft). “High hazard” describes what lies downstream (people would probably die if the dam failed), not how likely the dam is to fail.
On FEMA's National Risk Index, East Baton Rouge Parish has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively High”. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: tornadoes (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), river flooding (Relatively High) and heat waves (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Baton Rouge?
On October 11, 2026 the state transportation feed listed 6 highway work zones in Baton Rouge city limits (5 active that day). Where crews are working: I-110 and I-10. 6 are on interstates. The map's construction layer is refreshed every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Baton Rouge?
Federal school lists place 79 public and 26 private schools within Baton Rouge. 12 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Baton Rouge
Gun shops
18 gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Baton Rouge city limits (17 from the ATF licensee list, 1 from OpenStreetMap), plus 9 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). 14 of them are pawnshops licensed to sell guns. On the ATF list: Academy Sports + Outdoors #56 (Baton Rouge), American Pawn (2 in Baton Rouge), Bayou Pawn & Jewelry #2 (Baton Rouge), Bayou Pawn & Jewelry #5 (Baton Rouge), Blum Enterprises INC (Baton Rouge), Bowie Outfitters (Baton Rouge), Cash America Pawn (Baton Rouge), Cash America Pawn Of Baton Rouge #1 (Baton Rouge) and 8 more.
Liquor stores
7 liquor stores are on the map inside the Baton Rouge city limits: Bin Q (Baton Rouge), Louisiana Liquors (Baton Rouge), Martin Wine Cellar (Baton Rouge), Martin’s Wine Cellar (Baton Rouge), Martin’s: Wine, Liquor, & Beer - Lobdell (Baton Rouge), The Beverage Store (Baton Rouge) and Vince's Liquor Store (Baton Rouge). Louisiana has no complete public liquor licence list we can use, so this count also draws on OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps and may miss some stores or include closed ones.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Baton Rouge city limits on the map.
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official; partial in some states); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Baton Rouge?
In 2023, Baton Rouge had 10.1 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (2,210 reported), 79% higher than the Louisiana rate (5.6). The property-crime rate was 55.3 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Baton Rouge?
$49,994 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $60,756 for Louisiana.
How much do homes cost in Baton Rouge?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $234,700 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $216,500 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Baton Rouge?
On FEMA's National Risk Index, East Baton Rouge Parish has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively High”. Of the seven hazards on our map, FEMA rates these highest: tornadoes (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), river flooding (Relatively High) and heat waves (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Lafayette, LA (56 mi) · Kenner, LA (60 mi) · Metairie, LA (65 mi) · New Orleans, LA (76 mi) · Gulfport, MS (123 mi) · Lake Charles, LA (125 mi)
More: Louisiana statewide numbers · county page: East Baton Rouge Parish · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Baton Rouge city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms