Map the Block › Places › Florida › Miami Gardens
Miami Gardens, Florida by the numbers
FBI figures for 2025 show 3.6 violent crimes per 1,000 people in Miami Gardens, 37% higher than the rate across Florida (2.6). Median household income is $63,627 and the median home value is $378,500. About 113,177 people live in Miami Gardens.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Miami Gardens?
Miami Gardens's violent-crime rate for 2025 was 3.6 per 1,000 residents, based on 421 offenses reported to the FBI. It stands at 37% higher than the Florida rate (2.6); the U.S. figure is 3.3. The department recorded 11 murders. Property crime came to 2,047 offenses (17.4 per 1,000; Florida: 11.8). Compared with 2023, when 192 were reported, the count is up 119%.
| Offense (2025) | Miami Gardens count | Per 1,000 | Florida per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 421 | 3.6 | 2.6 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 11 | 0.09 | 0.03 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 16 | 0.14 | 0.27 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 78 | 0.66 | 0.37 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 316 | 2.7 | 1.9 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 2,047 | 17.4 | 11.8 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 238 | 2.0 | 1.3 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,738 | 14.8 | 9.8 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 71 | 0.60 | 0.71 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Miami Gardens changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 192 | 1,055 | 10 |
| 2024 | 470 | 2,779 | 13 |
| 2025 | 421 | 2,047 | 11 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Miami Gardens Police Department's own reports.
How does Miami Gardens compare with Florida?
Miami Gardens's median household earns $63,627 a year, 15% lower than the state figure ($74,568). Owner-occupied homes have a median value of $378,500, and half of renters pay more than $1,787 a month. About 113,177 people live on 18 square miles of land, roughly 6,125 per square mile. The city lies in Miami-Dade County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Miami Gardens | Florida | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 113,177 | 22,416,077 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $63,627 | $74,568 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $378,500 | $359,000 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,787 | $1,669 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 9.0% | 4.8% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 13.6% | 12.6% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 18.1% | 34.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 64.4% | 67.6% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 39.4 | 42.6 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Miami Gardens?
1 Superfund site is on or proposed for EPA's National Priorities List in Miami Gardens: Anodyne, Inc.. A listing means EPA is managing a long-term cleanup; it does not by itself mean anyone is exposed today.
Miami-Dade County carries a “Very High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Miami Gardens?
No highway work zones were listed in Miami Gardens city limits in the October 11, 2026 state feed. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Miami Gardens?
Inside the city limits there are 35 public schools (2024-25) and 23 private schools (2023-24). Within about 15 miles: 5 state parks or recreation areas: Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park, Hugh Taylor Birch State Park, John U. Lloyd Beach State Park, Oleta River State Park and The Barnacle Historic State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Miami Gardens
Gun shops
No gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Miami Gardens city limits. There is 1 licensed dealer without a public storefront (not shown).
Liquor stores
5 liquor stores are on the map inside the Miami Gardens city limits: Bside Liquor (North Miami Beach), Liquor Mart 9 (Miami Gardens), Sta-D-Um Liquors (Miami Gardens), Tailgate Liquors (Miami Gardens) and Tipsee Spirits & Wine (Miami).
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Miami Gardens city limits on the map.
See them on the map: liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Miami Gardens?
In 2025, Miami Gardens had 3.6 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (421 reported), 37% higher than the Florida rate (2.6). The property-crime rate was 17.4 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Miami Gardens?
$63,627 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $74,568 for Florida.
How much do homes cost in Miami Gardens?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $378,500 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $359,000 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Miami Gardens?
Miami-Dade County carries a “Very High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Very High), hurricanes (Very High), coastal flooding (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Country Club, FL (4 mi) · North Miami, FL (6 mi) · Miramar, FL (6 mi) · Hialeah, FL (7 mi) · Hollywood, FL (7 mi) · Pembroke Pines, FL (8 mi)
More: Florida statewide numbers · county page: Miami-Dade County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Miami Gardens city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms