Map the Block › Places › Pennsylvania › Allentown
Allentown, Pennsylvania by the numbers
According to the FBI, Allentown had 2.6 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2025, 16% higher than the Pennsylvania rate (2.3). Median household income is $55,494 and the median home value is $206,600. Population: about 125,976 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Allentown?
The FBI's 2025 figures put Allentown at 2.6 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (334 in all). For comparison, that is 16% higher than the Pennsylvania rate (2.3) and 20% lower than the national rate (3.3). 4 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. Burglaries, thefts and car thefts added up to 1,806 (14.2 per 1,000 residents). Violent crimes fell 7% between 2023 and 2025 (360 to 334).
| Offense (2025) | Allentown count | Per 1,000 | Pennsylvania per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 334 | 2.6 | 2.3 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 4 | 0.03 | 0.04 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 53 | 0.42 | 0.26 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 91 | 0.71 | 0.45 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 186 | 1.5 | 1.5 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 1,806 | 14.2 | 13.2 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 135 | 1.1 | 1.0 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,466 | 11.5 | 10.3 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 205 | 1.6 | 1.9 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Allentown changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 360 | 2,231 | 17 |
| 2024 | 340 | 1,972 | 4 |
| 2025 | 334 | 1,806 | 4 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Allentown Police Department's own reports.
How does Allentown compare with Pennsylvania?
Allentown's median household earns $55,494 a year, 29% lower than the state figure ($77,971). The median owner-occupied home is worth $206,600 by owners' estimates, and half of renters pay more than $1,317 a month. About 125,976 people live on 18 square miles of land, roughly 7,172 per square mile. The city lies in Lehigh County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Allentown | Pennsylvania | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 125,976 | 13,018,639 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $55,494 | $77,971 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $206,600 | $250,000+ | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,317 | $1,209 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 9.0% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 21.0% | 11.7% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 19.1% | 35.2% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 43.2% | 69.3% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 33.1 | 40.9 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Allentown?
On FEMA's National Risk Index, Lehigh County has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively Moderate”. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Allentown?
Pennsylvania does not publish an open highway work-zone feed that we can read yet, so road construction in Allentown city limits is not on our map. Check the state's 511 traveler site for current closures.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Allentown?
Inside the city limits there are 27 public schools (2024-25) and 6 private schools (2023-24). 4 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 1 state park or recreation area: Delaware River Access State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Allentown
Gun shops
No gun shops with a public storefront are on the map inside the Allentown city limits. There are 5 licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown).
Liquor stores
7 liquor stores are on the map inside the Allentown city limits: Fine Wine & Good Spirits (4 in Allentown), Gallows Hill Spirits Co. (Allentown), PA Wine & Spirits (Allentown) and Wine & Spirits Stores (Allentown). Pennsylvania has no complete public liquor licence list we can use, so this count also draws on OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps and may miss some stores or include closed ones.
Planned Parenthood
One Planned Parenthood health center is on the map inside the Allentown city limits: Planned Parenthood Allentown Medical Center (Allentown).
See them on the map: liquor stores · Planned Parenthood →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official; partial in some states); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Allentown?
In 2025, Allentown had 2.6 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (334 reported), 16% higher than the Pennsylvania rate (2.3). The property-crime rate was 14.2 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Allentown?
$55,494 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $77,971 for Pennsylvania.
How much do homes cost in Allentown?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $206,600 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $250,000+ statewide.
What natural hazards affect Allentown?
On FEMA's National Risk Index, Lehigh County has an overall natural-hazard risk rating of “Relatively Moderate”. The hazards rated highest here are river flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Bethlehem, PA (6 mi) · Reading, PA (29 mi) · Philadelphia, PA (44 mi) · Levittown, PA (45 mi) · Trenton, NJ (45 mi) · Camden, NJ (49 mi)
More: Pennsylvania statewide numbers · county page: Lehigh County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Allentown city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms