Map the Block › Places › Pennsylvania › Harrisburg
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania: crime rate and local statistics
According to the FBI, Harrisburg had 6.3 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2025, about 2.8 times the Pennsylvania rate (2.3). The median household income is $48,099 and the median home value is $124,200. Population: about 50,287 (Census, 2020-2024). Harrisburg is the capital of Pennsylvania.
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Harrisburg?
In 2025 the Harrisburg Police Department reported 320 violent crimes to the FBI, which works out to 6.3 per 1,000 people. It stands at about 2.8 times the Pennsylvania rate (2.3); the U.S. figure is 3.3. 11 of the violent crimes were murders or non-negligent manslaughter. Burglaries, thefts and car thefts added up to 915 (18.0 per 1,000 residents). Violent crimes fell 41% between 2023 and 2025 (538 to 320).
| Offense (2025) | Harrisburg count | Per 1,000 | Pennsylvania per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 320 | 6.3 | 2.3 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 11 | 0.22 | 0.04 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 32 | 0.63 | 0.26 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 113 | 2.2 | 0.45 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 164 | 3.2 | 1.5 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 915 | 18.0 | 13.2 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 147 | 2.9 | 1.0 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 603 | 11.9 | 10.3 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 165 | 3.2 | 1.9 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Harrisburg changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2023 | 538 | 1,009 | 14 |
| 2024 | 387 | 999 | 15 |
| 2025 | 320 | 915 | 11 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Harrisburg Police Department's own reports.
How does Harrisburg compare with Pennsylvania?
Households in Harrisburg have a median income of $48,099 (Pennsylvania: $77,971). Owner-occupied homes have a median value of $124,200, and half of renters pay more than $1,062 a month. About 50,287 people live on 8 square miles of land, roughly 6,194 per square mile. The city lies in Dauphin County and Cumberland County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Harrisburg | Pennsylvania | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 50,287 | 13,018,639 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $48,099 | $77,971 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $124,200 | $250,000+ | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,062 | $1,209 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 11.4% | 5.3% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 30.5% | 11.7% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 25.9% | 35.2% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 36.6% | 69.3% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 33.4 | 40.9 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Harrisburg?
Dauphin County carries a “Relatively Moderate” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are river flooding (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Harrisburg?
Pennsylvania does not publish an open highway work-zone feed that we can read yet, so road construction in Harrisburg city limits is not on our map. Check the state's 511 traveler site for current closures.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Harrisburg?
Federal school lists place 18 public and 8 private schools within Harrisburg. 1 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing home is in the city. Within about 15 miles: 2 state parks or recreation areas: Gifford Pinchot State Park and Ibberson Conservation Area State Park.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Harrisburg
Gun shops
One gun shop with a public storefront is on the map inside the Harrisburg city limits, plus 2 more licensed dealers without a public storefront (not shown). On the ATF list: Cordier Auctions (Harrisburg).
Liquor stores
4 liquor stores are on the map inside the Harrisburg city limits: Fine Wine & Good Spirits (4 in Harrisburg). Pennsylvania has no complete public liquor licence list we can use, so this count also draws on OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps and may miss some stores or include closed ones.
Planned Parenthood
One Planned Parenthood health center is on the map inside the Harrisburg city limits: Planned Parenthood (Harrisburg).
See them on the map: gun shops · liquor stores · Planned Parenthood →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official; partial in some states); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Harrisburg?
In 2025, Harrisburg had 6.3 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (320 reported), about 2.8 times the Pennsylvania rate (2.3). The property-crime rate was 18.0 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Harrisburg?
$48,099 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $77,971 for Pennsylvania.
How much do homes cost in Harrisburg?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $124,200 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $250,000+ statewide.
What natural hazards affect Harrisburg?
Dauphin County carries a “Relatively Moderate” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are river flooding (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Lancaster, PA (35 mi) · Reading, PA (51 mi) · Bel Air South, MD (61 mi) · Towson, MD (63 mi) · Frederick, MD (65 mi) · Baltimore, MD (69 mi)
More: Pennsylvania statewide numbers · county pages: Dauphin County and Cumberland County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Harrisburg city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms