Map the Block › Places › California › Downey
Downey, California by the numbers
According to the FBI, Downey had 3.0 reported violent crimes per 1,000 residents in 2025, 31% lower than the California rate (4.3). Median household income is $90,699 and the median home value is $796,600. Population: about 110,939 (Census, 2020-2024).
Last updated . Crime: FBI 2025. Income and housing: Census ACS 2020-2024. Road work: October 11, 2026.
Also on the map: income by neighborhood · home values · schools
What is the crime rate in Downey?
The FBI's 2025 figures put Downey at 3.0 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (324 in all). For comparison, that is 31% lower than the California rate (4.3) and close to the national rate (3.3). Its murder count for the year was 3. Burglaries, thefts and car thefts added up to 2,359 (21.8 per 1,000 residents). Car thefts stand out: 6.5 per 1,000, about 3.3 times the national rate. Compared with 2022, when 503 were reported, the count is down 36%.
| Offense (2025) | Downey count | Per 1,000 | California per 1,000 | U.S. per 1,000 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Violent crime | 324 | 3.0 | 4.3 | 3.3 |
| Murder | 3 | 0.03 | 0.03 | 0.04 |
| Rape | 24 | 0.22 | 0.33 | 0.36 |
| Robbery | 132 | 1.2 | 0.95 | 0.49 |
| Aggravated assault | 165 | 1.5 | 3.0 | 2.4 |
| Property crime | 2,359 | 21.8 | 17.9 | 15.3 |
| Burglary | 242 | 2.2 | 2.8 | 1.9 |
| Larceny-theft | 1,416 | 13.1 | 12.0 | 11.4 |
| Motor vehicle theft | 701 | 6.5 | 3.2 | 2.0 |
How has crime in Downey changed since 2021?
| Year | Violent crimes | Property crimes | Murders |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2022 | 503 | 2,895 | 10 |
| 2023 | 475 | 3,116 | 1 |
| 2024 | not reported in full | – | – |
| 2025 | 324 | 2,359 | 3 |
Most crime never reaches the police, so these are reported crimes, a floor rather than the full count. In 2024 about half of violent crimes (48%) and about 3 in 10 property crimes (31%) were reported to police (U.S. Justice Department, National Crime Victimization Survey). Rates also depend on how completely each agency reports to the FBI. City figures are the Downey Police Department's own reports.
How does Downey compare with California?
The median household income in Downey is $90,699, close to the California median ($99,122). Owner-occupied homes have a median value of $796,600, and half of renters pay more than $1,937 a month. About 110,939 people live on 12 square miles of land, roughly 8,940 per square mile. The city lies in Los Angeles County.
| Census ACS 2020-2024 | Downey | California | United States |
|---|---|---|---|
| Population | 110,939 | 39,287,377 | 334,922,499 |
| Median household income | $90,699 | $99,122 | $80,734 |
| Median home value (owner-occupied) | $796,600 | $734,700 | $332,700 |
| Median gross rent | $1,937 | $2,036 | $1,413 |
| Unemployment rate (2020-2024 average) | 5.8% | 6.6% | 5.2% |
| People below the poverty line | 9.0% | 12.0% | 12.5% |
| Adults 25+ with a bachelor's degree or higher | 26.1% | 37.1% | 35.7% |
| Homeowner households | 51.1% | 55.9% | 65.2% |
| Median age | 37.7 | 37.9 | 38.9 |
What environmental sites and hazards are in Downey?
Los Angeles County carries a “Very High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are wildfire (Very High), river flooding (Very High), earthquakes (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High). The index compares counties with each other and also weighs how vulnerable and resilient a community is, so it is a long-run estimate, not a forecast.
Is there road construction in Downey?
No highway work zones were listed in Downey city limits in the October 11, 2026 state feed. Some states publish only part of their road work in open feeds, so check the state's 511 site before you travel. The map's layer refreshes every morning.
See today's work zones on the map →
How many schools, nursing homes and parks are in or near Downey?
Inside the city limits there are 23 public schools (2024-25) and 6 private schools (2023-24). 2 Medicare- or Medicaid-certified nursing homes are in the city. Within about 15 miles: 6 state parks or recreation areas: Bolsa Chica State Beach, Kenneth Hahn State Recreation Area, Los Angeles State Historic Park, Pío Pico State Historic Park and Rio de Los Angeles State Park and 1 more.
Gun shops, liquor stores and Planned Parenthood in Downey
Gun shops
No gun shops or licensed gun dealers are on the map inside the Downey city limits.
Liquor stores
26 liquor stores are on the map inside the Downey city limits: A & T Liquor (Downey), Allocated Liquor LLC (Downey), Aloha Liquor (Downey), Asl Liquor & Market (Downey), Boozy Liquor (Downey), Captain Dons Liquor (Downey), Champs Liquor #3 (Downey), Champs Liquor #5 (Downey) and 18 more.
Planned Parenthood
There is no Planned Parenthood health center inside the Downey city limits on the map.
See them on the map: liquor stores →
Sources: ATF licensee list (Sept 2026); state liquor licence lists, OpenStreetMap and Overture Maps (non-official); HHS Title X directory and CMS NPPES.
Common questions
What is the crime rate in Downey?
In 2025, Downey had 3.0 violent crimes per 1,000 residents (324 reported), 31% lower than the California rate (4.3). The property-crime rate was 21.8 per 1,000 (FBI Uniform Crime Reporting).
What is the median household income in Downey?
$90,699 (Census American Community Survey, 2020-2024), compared with $99,122 for California.
How much do homes cost in Downey?
The median value of owner-occupied homes is $796,600 (Census ACS 2020-2024), against $734,700 statewide.
What natural hazards affect Downey?
Los Angeles County carries a “Very High” overall rating in FEMA's National Risk Index. Among the hazards we show, the highest-rated are wildfire (Very High), river flooding (Very High), earthquakes (Very High) and tornadoes (Relatively High).
Nearby cities
Paramount, CA (3 mi) · Norwalk, CA (3 mi) · Bellflower, CA (3 mi) · South Gate, CA (4 mi) · Lynwood, CA (4 mi) · Pico Rivera, CA (4 mi)
More: California statewide numbers · county page: Los Angeles County · Sex-offender registry search (NSOPW)
Where do these numbers come from?
- Crime: FBI Uniform Crime Reporting, agency counts 2021-2025 (Return A); state and national rates: FBI estimated crimes.
- Income, housing, education: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2020-2024 5-year, table B19013 (median household income) and related tables, for the Census place Downey city.
- Land area: Census 2024 Gazetteer. Hazards: FEMA National Risk Index v1.20 (December 2025), county scores (county level).
- Superfund: U.S. EPA, Superfund site boundaries and NPL status (October 2026). Dams: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, National Inventory of Dams (public map service, October 2026).
- Work zones: State departments of transportation, via the U.S. DOT Work Zone Data Exchange (WZDx) and state 511 feeds; refreshed every morning (snapshot October 11, 2026).
- Schools: National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE public school locations 2024-25; budgets: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2024; National Center for Education Statistics, EDGE Private School geocodes (Private School Survey 2023-24). Nursing homes: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Nursing Home Provider Information and Penalties (September 2026).
- Parks: USGS Protected Areas Database of the U.S. (PAD-US 4.1); state park agencies' open data (CA, NY, PA, TN, TX, FL, NJ, KY, HI, UT, MT and others); OpenStreetMap contributors for some hours, phones, fees and camping; U.S. National Park Service: unit boundaries (Land Resources Division), Acreage Report (Sept 30, 2026), park pages on nps.gov (hours, fees), Visitor Use Statistics (2025).
Map the Block shows public statistics about places, not people, and does not rate or rank neighborhoods as places to live. Figures are as published by each source; check the source before relying on a number.
Home · Open the map · All places · About the data · Privacy · Terms